Home > News > SCDI appoints innovation…

SCDI appoints innovation specialists to key roles

Shonaig Macpherson CBE, former Senior Partner at McGrigors Solicitors, and current Chair of the Robertson Trust has succeeded Dame Susan Rice DBE to become its 14th President. Joanna Boag-Thomson, Partner in Shepherd and Wedderburn’s media and technology practice, has been elected its new Vice-Chair.

Dame Susan Rice DBE and former Vice-Chair Willie Maltman have become Fellows of SCDI in recognition of their significant contribution to SCDI and Scotland.

Commenting on her appointment Shonaig Macpherson, said:

“It’s a privilege to be taking over the Presidency of SCDI. As a former chair and board member, I understand the contribution that the organisation makes to the Scottish economy and the unique role it plays.

“SCDI’s convening power has brought so many differing businesses and organisations from throughout the country together in shaping our economy, and as we look to the future, that role remains as vital today as it ever has.”

New SCDI Vice-Chair, Joanna Boag-Thomson, added:

“The thought leadership SCDI has shown over the years, and the ongoing work to look at how it brings insight and leadership to the pressing challenges and opportunities ahead, are crucial at this time.

“With a strong board and talented team, I’m delighted to take on this role as vice-chair and help provide leadership as it faces up to the decisions we must all make.”

SCDI Chair, Ian Wall, commented:

“Shonaig’s contribution to Scottish life has been immense and she will be an outstanding President of SCDI over the years ahead. Shonaig and Joanna have expertise across all the priorities for Scottish economy and have a deep commitment to ensuring that Scotland becomes a better place for all of us.

“Over these past eight years Dame Susan Rice has played a major role for us as has Willie Maltman over an even longer period and I cannot thank them enough for their contribution to SCDI and the country.”