International Business Committee

The International Business Committee holds principal responsibility in Prosper for championing collaboration and policies to grow Scotland’s trade, inward investment, and global influence. Scotland’s authoritative non-governmental voice for post-Brexit international trade policy, it also contributes to Prosper’s thinking on the international dimension of issues such as education, tourism and connectivity.

Committee members represent organisations and sectors with international trade expertise. They are dedicated to building and strengthening capacity across Prosper’s membership as well as Scotland to engage in international trade and trade policy. The Committee also plays an essential role in fostering engagement and collaboration between Scottish exporters and the UK and Scottish Governments.

The Committee guides Prosper’s Policy Team as they represent members on groups including the EU-UK Trade and Cooperation Agreement (TCA) Domestic Advisory Group and Civil Society Forum.


  • Afzal Khushi, Director, Jacobs & Turner Ltd
  • Chris Kauer, Head of Trade – Europe and Africa, Scotch Whisky Association
  • David Lott, Deputy Director, Universities Scotland
  • David Thomson, Chief Executive Officer, Food and Drink Federation Scotland
  • Donald H Smith, Managing Director, LiceComb Engineering
  • Eddie Black, Managing Director, Eco Group
  • Eric Balish, Head of Corporate Trade Sales, UK & Ireland, Bank ABC (ABC International Bank plc)
  • Ian McKendrick, Director International, Scotch Whisky Association
  • Ian Walker, Corporate Citizenship Director, Janssen (Johnson & Johnson)
  • James Kenny, Head of Global Affairs | Group Management Services, Ove Arup & Partners International Limited
  • James Park, Head of Insights, Salmon Scotland Ltd
  • Joanna Boag-Thomson, Partner, Shepherd and Wedderburn LLP
  • John Lennon, Dean of Glasgow School of Business & Society, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Keith Dagleish, President Commercial, Wood
  • Tavish Scott, CEO, Salmon Scotland Ltd


  • Iseabail MacTaggart, Deputy Direct of the Department for Business and Trade
  • Rachel Gwyon, Director, UK Export Strategy, Department for Business and Trade
  • Richard Rollison, Director of International Trade and Investment, The Scottish Government
  • Reuben Aitken, Managing Director – International, Scottish Development International
  • Stewart Dee, Stakeholder Engagement Lead, Department for Business and Trade
  • William Dowson, Agent for Scotland, Bank of England

Secretary to the Committee

  • Gareth Williams, Head of Policy, Prosper
  • Nairne Hopkinson, Policy Analyst, Prosper